top of page

Alabama State Capitol

average rating is 4.5 out of 5

The Alabama State Capitol, listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the First Confederate Capitol, is the state capitol building for Alabama located on Capitol Hill, originally Goat Hill, in Montgomery that was declared a National Historic Landmark on December 19, 1960.

Alabama has had five political capitals during its history. The first was the territorial capital in St. Stephens in 1817, followed by the state convention in Huntsville in 1819, then the first "permanent" capital in Cahaba in 1820. It was then moved to Tuscaloosa in 1826 to a new three-story building, until coming to rest in Montgomery in 1846. The 1826 State House later became home to Alabama Central Female College, burned in 1923 and now ruins within Capitol Park. The current structure is the state's fourth purpose-built capitol building, with the first at Cahaba, the second at Tuscaloosa, and the last two in Montgomery. The first capitol building in Montgomery, located where the current building stands, burned after only two years. The current building was completed in 1851, although additional wings were added over the course of the following 140 years.

Add your review
Rate ItPretty badNot so goodGoodVery goodAwesomeRate It

Thanks for submitting!

Select File
bottom of page