Donegal County Museum
Donegal County Museum (Irish: Músaem Chontae Dhún na nGall) is a county museum, officially recognised by the Government of Ireland as the best in the country. Located on High Road in Letterkenny, the building opened to the public in 1845 as the Warden's House of the Letterkenny Workhouse during the Famine. Its purpose is to collect, record, preserve, and display the material evidence and associated information of the history of Donegal.
Letterkenny Board of Guardians held their first meeting in July 1841. At this meeting it was decided to build a workhouse in the town. The constructor of the building was Alex Deane of Cork. He agreed to complete the building, on a 4-acre (16,000 m2) site, for £5,792. The building commenced in 1842 in neo-Tudor style . Stone used in the building was taken from Lord Abercorn's Quarry. The Warden's House and the Workhouse doors opened in 1844, shortly before the Famine. 46 paupers were admitted. A dispensary was attached to the workhouse and later became Saint Anne's Maternity Hospital.